Preview Cart Checkout

Become a Member

Join Today!

Willa Cather Foundation - Red Cloud Nebraska (NE)

Receive our Newsletter


Virtual Author Series: Erin Flanagan

Virtual Author Series: Erin Flanagan

Thursday, February 24, 2022 - 7:00pm

Mark your calendars for a reading and discussion with author Erin Flanagan! Set in 1980s rural Nebraska, Deer Season, Flanagan's 2021 novel, follows a mystery surrounding a missing girl and a farmhand with a past as area hunters enjoy opening weekend. Much like Willa Cather, Flanagan portrays the not-so-distant past of a Great Plains community and asks readers to consider how rural culture shapes the lives of her characters.  Register for the event here.

Be sure to purchase a copy of Deer Season in our bookstore!

This author series event is made possible by generous donor support as well as Humanities Nebraska (HN) and the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) as part of the American Rescue Plan (ARP) Act of 2021. NEH is committed to Sustaining the Humanities through the American Rescue Plan (SHARP).

Erin Flanagan
About the Author

Erin Flanagan is the author of Deer Season and two short story collections, The Usual Mistakes and It’s Not Going to Kill You and Other Stories, all published by the University of Nebraska Press. Her next novel, Blackout, is coming out in August 2022 with Thomas & Mercer. She’s held fellowships to Yaddo, MacDowell, the Sewanee Writers’ Conference, the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference, Ucross, and the Vermont Studio Center and holds a PhD in English from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. She is an English professor at Wright State University. For more information, visit