Preview Cart Checkout

Become a Member

Join Today!

Willa Cather Foundation - Red Cloud Nebraska (NE)

Receive our Newsletter


Student Scholarships Awarded

Student Scholarships Awarded

Monday, June 20, 2022

The National Willa Cather Center is delighted to announce our 2022 recipients of the Norma Ross Walter, Ántonia, Antonette Willa Skupa Turner, and the Leslie A. and Helen R. Wilson scholarships. Scholars not in attendance at our 67th annual Spring Conference recorded a video reading of their winning essays shared virtually.

The Norma Ross Walter Scholarship winners:

  • First place, Emelia Richling (Grand Island Northwest High School)
  • Second place: Allison Meerian (Gretna High School)
  • Third place, Megan Ruwe (Millard North High School)

This year’s Ántonia Scholarship winner is:

  •  Chloe Berger (Berger Homeschool)

The Antonette Willa Skupa Turner Scholarship winner is: 

  • Shelby March (Wymore Southern High School)

The Leslie A. and Helen R. WIlson Scholarship winner is:

  • Kayce Clark (Red Cloud High School)

Norma Ross Walter was a frequent visitor to Red Cloud and lifelong Cather fan. The scholarship established by her ample bequest supports young women seeking higher education. Antonette Turner generously established both the eponymous Antonette Willa Skupa Turner scholarship and the Ántonia scholarship, named after the celebrated Willa Cather character inspired by Turner’s grandmother, Anna Pavelka. Created by Jack Wilson in memory of his parents, the Leslie A. and Helen R. Wilson scholarship assists Webster County students pursuing secondary education or agricultural degrees. Scholarships awarded through the Willa Cather Foundation since 1987 total more than $190,000 and have assisted more than 75 students pursuing a higher education degree.

For more information about our scholarship funds, please contact education coordinator Rachel Olsen at Application information for 2023 is available on our Scholarships page and annual deadlines are January 31, February 28, and April 20.